Tag Archives

One Article

Is Oatmeal Gluten Free?

Posted by elkyra on
Is Oatmeal Gluten Free?

Are you often wondering about this question: is oatmeal gluten free?  If you have celiac disease or have non-celiac gluten sensitivity, then read this Gluten Free Dallas post to know if oatmeal is indeed gluten free.


Is Oatmeal Gluten Free: Question Answered

The answer to this question is both YES and NO.


Yes because there are pure oatmeal and pure oats.  These products naturally do not have gluten in them.  No because majority of oats and oatmeal today are not pure.  They become contaminated in the fields and in during processing.  How does this happen?


The farmers who grow usually oats also happen to have wheat, barley, and rye which all have gluten in them.  In the processing of those products, farmers use the same machines, storage facilities, and even mode of transportation to deliver the oats and gluten filled grains.  Consequently, gluten can eventually mix with the oats.


Do not worry though as there are companies that sell certified gluten-free oatmeal.  Those oats are said to be pure and are in no danger of being contaminated.  If you are still on the lookout for gluten-free oats, here are brands that you can checkout in your local store:

  • Bob’s Red Mill
  • GF Harvest
  • Glutenfreeda Foods
  • Quaker Oats – they buy gluten grains that is possibly contaminated with gluten grains but they assured that their gluten-free oats are safe as they are employing a sorting technique to eliminate gluten.


Be careful as there are brands that offer non-gluten alternatives (such as Bob’s Red Mill) so better check the label carefully prior to checking out.  Make sure that the items are properly marked as gluten-free to be sure that you are getting what you want.


Is Oatmeal Gluten Free: More Questions and Advice

Now that we have answered the main question, let us direct our attention to other important questions regarding oats and gluten allergies.

1. Can you still eat oatmeal if you are allergic to gluten?

Big yes to this question as long as you get the certified gluten-free versions.  Double check to ensure that you are buying one that will not cause your celiac disease symptoms to resurface.

But there’s one more thing to consider though – avenin.  Avenin is a protein in oats which other celiac sufferers are also allergic to so this means that you need to be extra cautious in purchasing your oats.


2. I have celiac disease but I am not sure if I can eat oats.  What do I do?

This is a follow up to the first question.  There is a few percentage of people with gluten sensitivity that is allergic to gluten-free oats so how do you know if you can eat them.  Simple.  Do a test.  Try a few spoons of gluten-free oatmeal and see if you get allergic reactions.  If reactions manifest then this means that oats are not for you.  Or maybe you can switch to a different brand of gluten-free oats and do the same test.


So is oatmeal gluten free?  Yes, the pure ones are.  No, there are those that are contaminated.  We suggest that you consult your physician prior to adding oats to your meals and if allergic reactions persist, stop oat consumption at once.