In this day and age, people are becoming more aware of the beauty of using gluten free makeup over the traditional gluten-laden counterparts. The thing is, it is difficult to distinguish one from the other. Don’t fret my dear makeup enthusiasts. This post will briefly discuss what gluten is and how you can find gluten free makeup.
Gluten Free Makeup: Getting To Know Gluten
Wheat, barley, and rye contain a protein called gluten. In the cosmetics world, gluten is regularly used as binder to make the ingredients stick together. However, there are many people nowadays who have developed sensitivity to this ingredient. This severe intolerance to gluten is called Celiac Disease.
People commonly know gluten as a culprit for internal and digestive problems. But now, it has also been proven to cause harsh skin irritations. One of which is dermatitis herpetiformis. Why or how is a skin problem possible?
As you may be aware by now, the skin absorbs anything we put in it. Even though you are putting a little bit of makeup every day, it can unknowingly accumulate and eventually lead to this exceedingly painful skin rash (most especially if the product is accidentally ingested such as mouthwash, toothpaste, lipstick, and lip gloss).
Those who have Celiac disease may not experience the symptoms right away but the fact is that impairment is being done inside their bodies as they continually use products with gluten. You may be faced with immune problems, sterility, and even cancer if you do not monitor your gluten usage.
Gluten Free Makeup: 2 Tips to Determining
Rashes or skin disorder may be the last thing on your mind whenever you apply your makeup because you are laser-focused on prettifying yourself. But what if you have Celiac disease or is sensitive to gluten?
You need to be wary of the products that you are using. Below are just two tips to buy or find gluten free makeup.
- Find GF – no, I am not referring to girlfriend. GF means gluten free and you need to look for signs or logos in the packaging that blatantly says “GF”. There are also labels that spell out “gluten free” to make sure that those with gluten intolerance can safely use the makeup. Otherwise, scram and look for legit gluten free makeup.
- Read, read, and read – always read and check the label because you will never find gluten written in the ingredients list. Or have you ever read a makeup label that says it has wheat, barley, or rye in it? Nope!
They use scientific names that sometimes they themselves don’t understand. How much more for us commoners, right? Here is a list of scientific words or ingredients that will help you know that what you are looking at is NOT a gluten free makeup:
- Avena Sativa
- Dextrin, Dextrin Palmitate
- Hordeum Vulgare
- Hydrolyzed malt extract, Hydrolyzed oat flour, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, hydrolyzed wheat flour, hydrolyzed wheat gluten, hydrolyzed wheat protein, hydrolyzed wheat protein/PVP crosspolymer, hydrolyzed wheat starch
- Secale cereal seed flour
- Triticum Vulgare
- Vitamin E (they are sometimes obtained from wheat)
- Wheat amino acids, wheat germ glycerides, wheat germamidopropalkonium chloride, wheat protein, wheatermamidopropyl ethyldimonium ethosulfate
- Yeast extract
They are a mouthful, right? Watch out for those ingredients and we assure you that you will be able to tell a gluten free makeup from not. Good luck beauties from your Gluten Free Dallas family!